Childhood memories stir as 50th Sto-Rox graduating class tours K-12 hallways

Sonja Reis | MRCDC

Lead by high school Spanish teacher Ben Engelhard, members of the Sto-Rox Class of 2017 participated in a stroll down memory lane as part of the many festivities enjoyed by seniors in preparation for their June 1 graduation.

Many members of the district’s 50th graduating class journeyed through their educational careers at Sto-Rox by touring the hallways of all three district buildings on May 23 much to the delight of the younger students.

The students who participated in the second annual event were accompanied by members of the district’s high school drum line.

Engelhard, the brainchild behind the Senior Walk concept at Sto-Rox, says the event serves as a way for soon-to-be graduates to look back at their academic careers while younger students think about their futures and that day when they too will be able to sport a green or white mortarboard with matching tassel.

This year’s valedictorian is  Nico N. DeRobio and the class salutatorian is Joshua Alan Caldwell.

Class of 2017 includes:

  • Seth Alexander
  • Ronald Barnes
  • James Beltz
  • Camryn Mikael Berry
  • Chiair Rose Berry
  • Julia Renee Black
  • Trevon Taylor Blair
  • Terra Raine Bonavito-Hogan
  • Keyonna D. Bowser
  • Maxwell Jeboriah Burley,
  • Joshua Alan Caldwell
  • William Claypoole
  • Aujene’Dashelle Coaston
  • Jer’eya Collins
  • Raymond Joseph Corcoran
  • Imoni Cottingham-Johnson
  • *Jalen Council
  • Wesley Cropper
  • Kiarra Dashay Davis
  • Quayonte’ Davis
  • Iayona Davis-Poole
  • Nico N. DeRobio
  • Brady Alexander Doubt
  • Hannah Marie Downs
  • Carrie Fernandez
  • Raymon Gee Jr.
  • Cherika Green
  • Ric’Quan Green
  • Leyona Grove
  • Natalia Hartnett
  • Lavaughan Hawkins
  • Janaya Lynn Hazlip
  • Rachel Hippensteel
  • Franklin Leland Hudson
  • Tanniel Marie Hurt
  • Carne Marie Johnson
  • Richard Alexander Johnson III
  • Damon’te Jones
  • Alexander John Kochirka
  • India Lewis-Lee
  • Shan Lin
  • Shannon Madden
  • Elizabeth McQuillan
  • Jarrett Messner
  • Desjah Janae Lynn Miller
  • Tyler James Molter
  • Christina Marie Morlan
  • Hoa Dang Nguyen
  • Jorell Oxendine
  • Jonathan Patterson
  • Brianna Nichole Pehm
  • Tyrai S. Perry
  • Stephen James Pryle
  • Cheyenne Rae Redmond
  • Daniel Marcus Riley
  • Ty’Rez Da’Quan Rose
  • Rayhonna Louise Russell
  • Dayshawn Lamont Saunders
  • Dayzhura R. Saunders
  • Kassandra Sciullo
  • To’Michael Sherrell
  • David A. Simmons
  • Essence-Divine Antoinette Sledge
  • Chantel Lanae Smith
  • Dwaine Lashawn Smith Jr.
  • Jamaal William Smith
  • Michael Tyree Smith
  • Davont Spencer-Johnson
  • Charles Anton Strothers Jr.
  • Mykell Daijia Stuvaints
  • Destiny Thomas
  • Tateonna Wade
  • Jasmine Washington
  • Dwayne Weiss
  • Zachary Weisser
  • Beautiful Lindsay Lakel Williams
  • Iesha Michelle Williams
  • Marquaysha Monea Williams
  • Lexis Erin Windsheimer
  • Jadin Kamille Wright
  • Darren J. Young Jr.
  • JaQuaya Michelle Young
  • Rebecca Zielinski
  • *Ryan Zoldos.

(* = National Honor Society)

For scholarships, awards, services and honors: Senior Awards 2016-17